
The Museums
THE ADJUTANT GENERAL’S
CORPS MUSEUM
The Adjutant General’s Corps Museum is located in the former guardroom of Peninsula Barracks at the top of Winchester’s High Street.
There is limited, free parking with a permit, and the building is located within a 10-minute walk from Winchester train station and a 5-minute walk from the nearest bus stop near the Westgate pub.


The Museum tells the story of the modern Adjutant General’s Corps (AGC) and the antecedent Corps. The AGC is relatively young, created in 1992 from the amalgamation of the Royal Army Pay Corps, the Royal Army Educational Corps, the Corps of the Royal Military Police, the Army Legal Corps, the Military Provost Staff Corps and the Women’s Royal Army Corps.
The Royal Military Police have their own museum at Southwick Park, and the Military Provost Staff Corps Association have a historic collection in Colchester. Our main collection consists of items of the Royal Army Pay Corps, the Royal Army Educational Corps and the Women’s Royal Army Corps.
THE ROYAL MILITARY POLICE MUSEUM
The Royal Military Police Museum moved from Chichester to Southwick Park in 2007. On 7th June that year Her Majesty the Queen, Colonel in Chief of the RMP, officially opened the museum.


The museum traces the story of the Military Police with each room covering a different time period. Explore the changing face of the RMP from its origins on horseback to today’s motorcyclists, crime scene investigators and computer experts.
The museum is housed within the old stable block of Southwick House. The house itself was commandeered by the Military for use during the planning for D-Day, and is where the famous D-Day wall map used in June 1944 to plot the course of Operation Overlord can still be seen.

